Knowledge Base

How to Add and Change a Trusted Phone Number

Did you find this article helpful?
Copy Link

* Your feedback is too short


As we adapt to an increasingly digital world, safeguarding our online identities has become more critical. One of the most effective ways to do this is through 2-Step Verification. One of the most common methods of 2-Step Verification is using a trusted phone. A trusted phone is a phone number tied to your account and can be used to receive a verification code during the login process.

Important: As part of improving account security, we are moving from a Trusted Phone to a Trusted Email for our 2-Step Verification process. If you have not applied 2-Step Verification, please note that we have disabled it together with Trusted Phone. Once you have moved to Trusted Email, we will reinstate 2-Step Verification with codes sent to your trusted email address.

When communicating with Customer Support, you can still use your trusted phone number as your backup method for account verification if you have already enabled 2-Step Verification during initial setup.

In this article, we will discuss:

Change a Trusted Phone Number

Note: Updating the Trusted Phone Number will not trigger a 60-day domain lock.
  1. Log in to your Account Manager by going to https://www.web.com/my-account/login.
  2. On the upper right side of the page, click the person icon.
  3. Click My Profile on the menu.
    My Profile option
  4. In the Security section, click CHANGE next to Trusted Phone.
    Change link
  5. Enter your password to confirm it is you, then click CONFIRM.
    Confirm button
  6. Check the box to acknowledge the risk of changing your trusted phone number, then click DISABLE.
  7. Enter the trusted phone number, then click NEXT.
  8. After entering the verification code texted to your phone, click VERIFY.
    Verify button

Your Trusted Phone was successfully updated!

Unsupported Countries

Listed below are countries currently not supported to set up Trusted Phone Number.

Afghanistan Gabon Madagascar Saint Kitts and Nevis
Algeria Gambia Malawi Saint Lucia
American Samoa Georgia Mali Saint Martin French
Angola Ghana Marshall Islands Saint Pierre and Miquelon
Anguilla Greenland Martinique Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Antigua and Barbuda Grenada Mauritius Samoa
Azerbaijan Guadeloupe Micronesia (Federated States of) San Marino
Bangladesh Guernsey Monaco Sao Tome and Principe
Belize Guinea Mongolia Senegal
Benin Guinea-Bissau Montserrat Serbia
Bermuda Guyana Morocco Seychelles
Bolivia Holy See (Vatican City State) Myanmar Sierra Leone
British Indian Ocean Territory Honduras Nauru Slovenia
Burundi Indonesia Nepal Solomon Islands
Cambodia Iran (Islamic Republic of) Niger South Sudan
Cameroon Iraq Nigeria Sri Lanka
Central African Republic Israel Niue Sudan
Chad Jersey Northern Mariana Islands Syrian Arab Republic
China Jordan Oman Tajikistan
Comoros Kazakhstan Pakistan Timor-Leste (East Timor)
Congo Kiribati Palau Tonga
Cook Islands Kosovo Palestinian Territory (Occupied) Turkmenistan
Democratic People’s Republic of Korea Kuwait Papua New Guinea Turks and Caicos Islands
Democratic Republic of the Congo Kyrgyzstan Philippines Tuvalu
Dominica Lao People's Democratic Republic Rwanda Uganda
El Salvador Lebanon   Uzbekistan
Equatorial Guinea Lesotho   Vanuatu
Eritrea Liberia   Vietnam
Estonia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya   Virgin Islands British
Ethiopia Liechtenstein   Virgin Islands US
Falkland Islands (Malvinas)     Wallis and Futuna Islands
Faroe Islands     Yemen
French Guiana     Zambia
Did you find this article helpful?
Copy Link

* Your feedback is too short