Loading...

Knowledge Base
Save 25% on a custom website!

Getting Started with Google Workspace

Overview

Google Workspace is a suite of Google applications that brings together essential services to help businesses. This is a hosted service running on Google's backbone and uses various Google products (Email, Google Docs, Google Calendar, and Google Meet) integrated with your domain.

In this article, we will discuss:

How Do I Use Google Workspace?

Google has prepared an online learning center and online knowledge base to get you started.

Note: We will automatically configure your mail to your Google Workspace account. We highly recommend that if you choose to utilize the Google Workspace walkthroughs that you do not reconfigure your MX Records as this may cause your Google Workspace services to stop working.

Back to Top ⇧

Setting Up Gmail in Outlook or Apple Mail

For instructions on setting up Gmail, please see the following:

Back to Top ⇧

Adding or Removing Users in Google Workspace

Add a User

Follow these steps to add a user to Google Workspace. Note: You must have at least one Admin to create a user. If you need to create an Admin, see Adding or Removing an Admin in Google Workspace.

  1. Sign in to your Account Manager.

  2. On the left side of the page, click Google Workspace. You will be taken to the Google Workspace Details page in your account.

  3. Under the Users section, click SETUP USER.
    Add a User in Google Workspace

  4. Enter the user’s First Name and Last Name in the open box, then create an email address and a password.

  5. Once you have completed all fields, click Create.

  6. The new user will be added to the Users section.

Edit a User

Follow these steps to add a user to Google Workspace.

  1. Sign in to your Account Manager.

  2. On the left side of the page, click Google Workspace. You will be taken to the Google Workspace Details page in your account.

  3. Under the Users section, locate the user you would like to modify. You can sort the list of users by name if you have trouble finding the user.

  4. Once you have located the user, click on the three dots to the right of the user’s status.

  5. You will see the options Read Email, Edit User, Delete User.

a. Edit User will open a box allowing you to change the first name, last name, email address, Admin status, or password. Once you have made your changes, click Save.

Edit Google Workspace User

b. Delete User will permanently remove the user from your list of users. After clicking Delete User, a box will pop-up warning you that you will permanently delete the user’s email and comments from your Google Workspace. This cannot be reversed. If you agree, click Delete. If you are unsure, click Cancel to go back to the Google Workspace Details page.

Delete Google Workspace User

Back to Top ⇧

Adding or Removing an Admin in Google Workspace

When you first create, you will see a pop-up prompting you to set up your Google Workspace. You will be prompted to do the following:

  1. Create a primary email for your account, then click Continue.
    Google Workspace Admin

  2. Setup a recovery email address, then click SETUP.
    Google Workspace Admin

If you need to manage Google Workspace Admin users outside of the initial account setup, select one of the options below.

Add an Admin

Follow these steps to add a user to Google Workspace. Note: You must have at least one Admin to create a user. If you need to create an Admin, see Adding or Removing an Admin in Google Workspace.

  1. Sign in to your Account Manager.

  2. On the left side of the page, click Google Workspace. You will be taken to the Google Workspace Details page in your account.

  3. Under the Users section, click SETUP USER.
    Add Google Workspace Admin

  4. Enter the user’s First Name and Last Name in the open box, then create an email address and a password.

  5. Turn on the option next to Admin Status to make the user an admin.

  6. Once you have completed all fields, click Create.

  7. The new Admin will be added to the Users section.

Edit an Admin

Follow these steps to add a user to Google Workspace.

  1. Sign in to your Account Manager.

  2. On the left side of the page, click Google Workspace. You will be taken to the Google Workspace Details page in your account.

  3. Under the Users section, locate the user you would like to modify. You can sort the list of users by name if you have trouble finding the user.

  4. Once you have located the user, click on the three dots to the right of the user’s status.

  5. You will see the options Read Email, Edit User, Delete User.

a. Edit User will open a box allowing you to change the first name, last name, email address, Admin status, or password. Once you have made your changes, click Save.

  • To modify the user’s Admin status, turn the option next to Admin Status on or off.

Edit User

b. Delete User will permanently remove the user from your list of users. After clicking Delete User, a box will pop-up warning you that you will permanently delete the user’s email and comments from your Google Workspace. This cannot be reversed. If you agree, click Delete. If you are unsure, click Cancel to go back to the Google Workspace Details page.

Delete user

Back to Top ⇧

Setting Up Google Workspace MX Records

Important: This procedure only applies if you want to use your Gmail.

Follow these steps to set up Google Workspace MX Records.

  1. Log in to your Account Manager.

  2. On the left side of the page, click Domain Names.

    Note: If you have multiple domains on the account, please select the domain tied to your Google Workspace plan.
  3. Click the drop-down arrow in the Advanced Tools section on the Domain Overview page.

  4. Click the Manage button beside Advanced DNS Records.

  5. Delete any existing MX records.

  6. Add the new MX records for the Google Mail Servers.

Values for Google Workspace MX Records

Name/Host/Alias  Time to Live (TTL*)  Record Type  Priority  Value/Answer/Destination 
@ or leave blank  3600  MX  ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM 
@ or leave blank  3600  MX  ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM 
@ or leave blank  3600  MX  ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM 
@ or leave blank  3600  MX  10  ALT3.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM 
@ or leave blank  3600  MX  10  ALT4.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM 

 

Note: Advanced DNS updates will take up to 2 hours to take effect. Updates may resolve faster at some locations than others because many name servers on the Internet retrieve updates at different times.

Back to Top ⇧         

Did you find this article helpful?

 
* Your feedback is too short

Loading...