Loading...

Knowledge Base
Save 25% on a custom website!

How Do I Manage Auto-Renew?

Important: If you log in through support.web.com, please refer to How Do I Set My Domain to Auto-Renew?

Overview

Automatic Renewal, or auto-renew, is a convenient way to make sure your products renew before the expiration date without you having to remember it. By setting your product or service to auto-renew, there is sufficient time to resolve any issue related to renewal without negatively impacting the ability to continue to use your product(s).

If you do not want your products set to auto-renew, you can change the auto-renew settings by logging in to your account manager. However, we recommend you keep your products and services set to auto-renew so you do not risk losing service or product deactivation if you forget to renew at the time of expiration.

Note: The renewal term is based on the term you choose at the time you purchase or renew the product. If you want to update the renewal term, you will need to renew and select a different renewal term.

Select the option you need to view the instructions:

Enable Auto-Renew

Important: A product can only be set to auto-renew for a maximum of 5 years. For example, if you purchase a domain for 9 years, it will automatically renew for 5 years.

Follow the steps below to enable auto-renew.

  1. Log in to the Account Manager.
  2. Click on Renewal Center.
  3. Check the box/boxes next to the product(s) you want to modify under Products & Services.

Enable Auto-renew

  1. Select Enable Auto-Renew.
  2. Click the Enable button in the pop-up to continue.

Enable button

Note: You can also enable auto-renew by clicking on Domain Names instead of Renewal Center. Check the box next to the product you want to renew. Then, click Renew and select Turn on Auto-Renew.

You have successfully enabled auto-renew!

 

Disable Auto-Renew

Follow the steps below to disable auto-renew.

  1. Log in to the Account Manager.
  2. Click on Renewal Center.
  3. Check the box/boxes next to the product(s) you want to modify under Products & Services.

Disable Auto-renew

  1. Select Disable Auto-Renew.
  2. Agree to the condition by checking the box, then click Disable.

Disable button

Note: If you disable auto-renew, you will be responsible for manually renewing your product before it expires.

If you're having trouble turning off auto-renew, contact us by clicking the chat button on our website.

 

Key Dates

The Automatic Renewal system alerts you to any problems, such as outdated billing information, along the following dates:

105 days before your product expires, you will receive the following:

  • An Automatic Renewal Reminder email is sent when the system checks the payment and the payment is valid.
  • A Bad Payment email is sent when the system checks payment and the payment is invalid.

When Automatic Renewal processes, you will receive the following:

  • An Order Payment Failure email is sent when automatic renewal fails. This occurs 60 days before product expiration and every failed attempt after, which occurs every 14 days.
  • An Order Confirmation email is sent when the automatic renewal is successful. This occurs 60 days before product expiration or if renewed on a later renewal attempt.

Find out what happens to a domain that is not renewed.

Did you find this article helpful?

 
* Your feedback is too short

Loading...